Skip to main content
Left Bank Books welcomes author, professor & St. Louis native Kyle Beachy, who will discuss his new book, The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life, on our Facebook Live Page at 7pm CT on August 24th. Beachy will be in conversation with St. Louis novelist and publisher Danielle Dutton. Join us on our Facebook Live Page and order a copy of The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores! About The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life Perfect for fans of Barbarian Days, this memoir in essays follows one man's decade-long quest to uncover the hidden meaning of skateboarding, and explores how this search led unexpectedly to insights on marriage, love, loss, American invention, and growing old. In January 2012, creative writing professor and novelist Kyle Beachy published one of his first essays on skate culture, an exploration of how Nike's corporate strategy successfully gutted the once-mighty independent skate shoe market. Beachy has since established himself as skate culture's freshest, most illuminating, at times most controversial voice, writing candidly about the increasingly popular and fast-changing pastime he first picked up as a young boy and has continued to practice well into adulthood. What is skateboarding? What does it mean to continue skateboarding after the age of forty, four decades after the kickflip was invented? How does one live authentically as an adult while staying true to a passion cemented in childhood? How does skateboarding shape one's understanding of contemporary American life? Of growing old and getting married? Contemplating these questions and more, Beachy offers a deep exploration of a pastime--often overlooked, regularly maligned--whose seeming simplicity conceals universal truths. THE MOST FUN THING is both a rich account of a hobby and a collection of the lessons skateboarding has taught Beachy--and what it continues to teach hi
Back to top