Skip to main content
Left Bank Books welcomes pastor and internationally known speaker on gender equity, LGBTQ advocacy, and religious tolerance, Paula Stone Williams, who will discuss her new book, As a Woman: What I Learned about Power, Sex, and the Patriarchy After I Transitioned, on our Facebook Live Page at 7pm CT on June 10. Williams will be in conversation with Left Bank Books co-owner and writer Jarek Steele. Join us on our Facebook Live Page and order a copy of As a Woman from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores! About As a Woman: What I Learned about Power, Sex, and the Patriarchy After I Transitioned A moving and unforgettable memoir of a transgender pastor's journey from despair to joy as she transitioned from male to female and learned about gender inequity, at home and in the workplace--perfect for fans of Redefining Realness and There Is Room for You. As a father of three, married to a wonderful woman, and holding several prominent jobs within the Christian community, Dr. Paula Stone Williams made the life-changing decision to physically transition from male to female at the age of sixty. Almost instantly, her power and influence in the evangelical world disappeared and her family had to grapple with intense feelings of loss and confusion. Feeling utterly alone and at a loss after being expelled from the evangelical churches she had once spearheaded, Paula struggled to create a new safe space for herself where she could reconcile her faith, her identity, and her desire to be a leader. Much to her surprise, the key to her new career as a woman came with a deeper awareness of the inequities she had overlooked before her transition. Where her opinions were once celebrated and amplified, now she found herself sidelined and ignored. New questions emerged. Why are women's opinions devalued in favor of men's? Why does love and intimacy feel so different? And, was it possible to find a new spirituality in her own image? In As a Woman, Paula pu
Back to top